DSCN2400Hello World!

Today, I thought I would do a blog post about Mine and Liam’s trip to Rome in February 2016. 

Our trip to Rome was for valentine’s day courtesy of Liam. He paid for both of us to go as a gift to me as he knows that I’ve always wanted to go. I didn’t really know what to do when I opened it; I wasn’t really sure what it was. As I read through all of the different sheets of paper, it all became clear and I let out a petty “Thank You!” I was so shocked, I didn’t really know what to say or do, I just looked and looked and looked at the sheets and I just took it all in. I think the fact that Liam had  contacted my work place, booked me the time off and organised the whole thing without me even being suspicious was amazing! Everyone around me knew apart from me! The best bit was I had only a week left at work and then we were off! It was all very surreal, I had never been on holiday without my family, but this was the time to be a grown up and not panic.. Yeah right!

So, myself and Liam managed to get through the airport by ourselves which was a huge achievement for someone who had never been abroad (Liam) and for someone who had never done it without a responsible adult around (myself). Liam was like a big kid when we took off. He was so amazed by the whole experience, he took so many photos as we were taking off and as we were flying through the clouds. I laughed at him for ages, but it was so nice to see him so happy and so amazed by something. 

We arrived in Rome at around dinner time, so we checked into our hotel, dropped our stuff off and we went out for dinner. We didn’t want anything too fancy as we were both in our travelling clothes and we were both exhausted! We spent the first night having a walk around the Colosseum, which is such an amazing building. We were a bit disappointed as they were obviously doing some maintenance work on it and there was scaffolding everywhere which kind of takes the beauty out of it, but all the same, we enjoyed it. We had a bit of a walk around and then we went back to the hotel and got ready for bed. 

The holiday was not a relaxing holiday at all! It involved a lot of walking, but it is such a beautiful city and we didn’t want to have a day off relaxing, we just wanted to get out and see everything! We spent our second day walking around the city, looking at lots of different buildings and monuments. We walked for 5 hours straight, but we walked from the Colosseum to the Vatican City. We saw the Trevi Fountain on our walk, so we made our wish and we threw in our coins (it is something you have to do if you go to Rome, just because..). We paid for tickets to go into the Colosseum and have a look around which was so surreal to think that we were standing in a building that people had died in and people had been tortured in, but it was so beautifully built. Once we had looked around the colloseum, we got on a bus and we went to the Vatican City to see what was there. The only problem was, you had to pay to get into a lot of the buildings there and it wasn’t cheap! We spent a short time there before we got the bus back to the colloseum to then walk back to the hotel where we got changed before going out for more food. 

On our last day, we had to be out of our hotel by 12pm but our transfer wasn’t picking us up until 2pm, so we had to find something to do, that wasn’t too far away as we had our suitcases and hand luggage with us! We decided to just get some lunch in a little café and have a little walk around before getting on the transfer back to the airport. 

Again, on the plane home, Liam was like a big kid, taking more pictures and looking even more excited than when we took off from England. Although it had been a really lovely week, we were both more than exhausted and we were so ready to have a good nights sleep in our own bed. When we landed back in England, my mum and dad were there to meet us, ready to drive us home. 

It was a really lovely holiday and if anyone asks me about it, I will tell them to go. It is a lot of walking and by no means relaxing, but it is a truly beautiful city and I’m so glad that we went. I am so lucky to have a boyfriend like Liam who is willing to pay for a holiday to somewhere I have wanted to go for years and I couldn’t have wished to have spent my time in the city with anyone but him. 

Love, Gemma x

